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IT’S RENEWAL TIME AGAIN !!!

It is time again to renew our licenses to practice dietetics!
Make sure that you don’t throw out the peach

application in this mailing! Please look at the form
carefully because we’ve made some changes. Some of the legal
questions are different than before, and we have added a section
about the laws and rules.

Be sure to fill the form out completely on both sides, and sign it
where required.

If you are considering not renewing your license, read the Status
Change section carefully. Requests for status change need to be
submitted by the June 30 renewal deadline.

The Board requests that completed applications and fees be
returned by May 31 in order to allow for adequate time to
process them before current licenses expire.

Your license actually expires on Monday June 30!
Renewal applications must be postmarked on or
before that date.

Don’t be late....it can be expensive, and it is a violation of the
law to practice without a valid license.

July 1 — August 15 the cost is $80 renewal plus $40 late fee.
After August 15, the cost is $165 to reinstate an expired
license.
If you are uncertain about any component of the renewal
application or process, don’t hesitate to contact OBD staff by
phone, fax, or e-mail.
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Do You Want a New Copy of the Laws and Rules?

The Board has not re-printed the Laws and Rules Governing the Practice of Dietetics in the
State of Ohio (Laws and Rules) since 1998. The last printing was a pocket sized green booklet.
Since then, some minor technical changes to the law have occurred, and some substantive rule
changes have just recently been enacted. So... we feel the need to re-publish.

In order to keep costs down, and to target recipients who really want a copy of the Laws and
Rules, we will NOT automatically send the booklet to all licensees as we have in the past.
However, on the peach FY 2004 Application for License Renewal form that is enclosed with
this Communique please note that there is a section in which you may indicate your desire
to receive a hard copy of the Laws and Rules.

The 2003 version of the Laws and Rules booklet is being printed in a standard 8 1/2” by 117
format, and the cover is orange in color. Printing it in this manner has reduced type setting
and duplication costs.

The Laws and Rules can also be accessed from the Ohio Board of Dietetics website:
www.state.oh.us/obd.

Board Enacts Law Related Continuing Education / Professional Development
Requirement

Ohio Administrative Code 4759-4-04 was recently amended to add a requirement for all
Ohio licensed dietitians to provide evidence of completion of at least one continuing
professional education unit of Board approved education in jurisprudence (law) beginning
with the FY 2005 license renewal application.

In order to assist licensees in meeting this requirement, the Board will publish a list of
approved activities that licensees can use to fulfill the requirement. We anticipate that a list of
the approved materials will be posted on our website this summer. Additionally, we will mail
one approved law related self-study to all licensees with the Communique’ once per year.

Licensees may wish to plan ahead and include a goal within their Professional Development
Learning Plans that indicates that you wish to “increase knowledge regarding the laws that
affect the practice of dietetics.” The OBD approved self-study materials could then be used
to support that professional development goal as well as meet the Ohio licensure
requirement.

Watch our website, and future Communique’s for more information on this new
requirement.
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