State of Ohio
blank
General Information
  About the Board
  Board Meetings
Annual Report
Laws and Rules
  Rule Making Process
  Non-RD Portfolio Information
  Human Trafficking
  Customer Service Standards
 
File a Complaint
Frequently Asked Questions
License Verification
 
For Licensees and Applicants
  Apply for a License
  Reactivation/Reinstatement Applications
  Change Name or Address
Communique Newsletters
Join Mailing List
Military Consideration
Jurisprudence
C.E. Information
On-Line License Renewal
 
Dietetic Practice
  Guidelines and Bulletins
  Standards of Practice
  Supervision
Competency Assessment
   

 

The requirements for licensure as a dietitian in Ohio are described in Section 4759.06 to 4759.061 of the Ohio Revised Code.

An Initial license is available for individuals meeting academic, pre-professional and examination requirements. The current examination approved by the Board is the examination offered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration for dietitians.

A Limited Permit license is available for individuals who have met academic and pre-professional requirements and are planning to sit for the next available examination.

The following fees must be submitted with the application:

Limited Permit License
$65.00
Initial License or Reactivation
$125.00
Prorated Initial License (April 1-June 30 only)
$62.50
Reinstatement
$180.00
Annual Renewal
$95.00


How to Apply for a Dietitian License

Beginning 3/24/2008 all first time applicants for a license in Ohio must complete a criminal background check pursuant to ORC 4759.061. Applicants who reside in Ohio should follow these "Criminal Background Check Procedures."

Applications for a Limited permit License and for an Initial License are available on this web-site under the selection "Application Downloads". Download the form, complete it, and mail the original form to the Board office:

The Ohio Board of Dietetics
77 S. High St., 18th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6119

If you are currently licensed or certified in another state, or have been in the past, you should also download the Verification of License form. Complete the pertinent sections, then forward the form to the other state(s) where you have held a license.

Persons residing outside of Ohio at the time of application should contact the Board office for instructions to complete the required criminal background check.

Other license application forms, including Reactivation applications, and Reinstatement applications are available by calling the Board offfice or requesting them in writing.

All applications must be complete before they may be issued. Don't forget to include the required 2" x2" photograph, verification forms where required, transcripts where required, and the appropriate license application fee.

Applications for licensure are reviewed for approval every Friday and will be issued by mail. Incomplete applications or those requiring verification may take longer to process.

Application Downloads

To Download, click on the Desired Form:

Application for License to Practice Dietetics

Application for Limited Permit to Practice Dietetics

Verification of License in Another State

Criminal Background Check Procedures

Examination Information

The competency examination approved by the Board for Ohio licensure is the exam offered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (RD Exam).

Registration examination information and schedule of tests may be obtained from:

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Commission on Dietetic Registration
120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000 Chicago, IL 60606
telephone:1-800-877-1600
http://cdrnet.org

state home
privacy policy