
 

   OHIO BOARD OF DIETETICS  
                   77 SOUTH HIGH STREET, 18TH FLOOR 

                  COLUMBUS, OH  43215-6119     (614) 466-3291 
                  www.dietetics.ohio.gov 

   

       Application for LIMITED PERMIT  
                   to Practice Dietetics  

Instructions 
 

The Limited Permit Application is for persons who have completed the academic and pre-professional experience requirements for 
dietitian [Sec.4759.06(A)(5) & (6)ORC] and ONE of the following: 

  
1. Intend to take the RD Examination offered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration  

within seven months of the issuance of the limited permit.  
[Sec.4759.06(F)ORC and Section 4759-4-08(A)(3)OAC] 

OR, 
2.  Are making application to take the Ohio Board of Dietetics approved examination. 

 

Return this completed, dated form with your original signature, any other required documents, and 
the nonrefundable application fee of $65.00.  Make check or money order payable to: Treasurer, 
State of Ohio and return to THE OHIO BOARD OF DIETETICS, 77 SOUTH HIGH STREET, 
18TH FLOOR, COLUMBUS, OH 43215-6119.   
 

Persons applying for their first Limited Permit are required to undergo a Criminal 
Background check through the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation and 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation prior to the issuance of the license.  See information 
enclosed, or posted on the Board’s website. 
 
Limited permits expire the following October 31st for those issued between April 1st and 
September 30th and the following April 30th for those issued between October 1st and March 
31st. 

  
  Incomplete applications can not be processed.  Faxed or e-mailed applications can not be processed. 
  

  The fee for limited permit does not include examination fees. 
 

Personal Information 
 
Social Security # *                                     Birthdate          /          /       Gender:   Male  �    Female  � 
Applicant's Name ( First, Middle, Last) 

Any Other Names Used or Previously Used by Applicant 

Applicant's Address  (Number, Street) ** 
City, State, Zip + 4 
 
County                                        Home Phone                                    Cell Phone 
                                                     (           )                                            (           )        

 
E-Mail Address  

 

*Provision of your social security number is mandatory [RC 3123.50] and may be provided for child support enforcement purposes [RC 
3123.50], reporting requirements to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank [42 USC § 1320a-7e(b), 5 USC § 552a, and 45 CFR pt 
61], and to law enforcement authorities for investigative/law enforcement purposes, and to process your license. 

 

**  A change of address must be reported to the Ohio Board of Dietetics in writing within 30 days. 
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  Education 
               
                                           List all colleges and universities attended; 

                        Attach official transcripts from all degree granting colleges or universities; and 
         Attach original of ADA Academic Verification Statement 
  Undergraduate Education 

 
Certificate/Degree 
Granting Institution 
 

 
City 

 
State 

 
Major 

 
Certificate/Degree 
Graduation  Date 
Mo/Yr 

 
Dates Attended 

       From                        To 
     Mo/Yr                    Mo/Yr 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 Graduate Education 

 
Certificate/Degree 
Granting Institution 

 
City 

 
State 

 
Major 

 
Certificate/Degree 
Graduation Date 
Mo/Yr 

 
Dates Attended 

        From                         To 
Mo/Yr                     Mo/Yr 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
  Pre-Professional Experience  

 
   Indicate the type of experience you have completed, check only one box. 

 
Dietetic Internship accredited/approved by the American Dietetic Association (ADA) � 
Coordinated Program in Dietetics accredited/approved by ADA       � 
Pre-Professional Practice Programs accredited/approved by ADA      � 
Other (Specify): 
____________________________________________________________________ 
 

                                   Attach original of ADA Pre-professional Experience Verification Statement 
 

 
Dates Attended 

         From                       To 
        Mo/Yr                   Mo/Yr 

 
 
 
Name and address of Pre-Professional Experience Program 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

   

 
  
Examination Information  
           
                                 Yes  No 
1)     Do you intend to take the examination given by the Commission on Dietetic Registration         �  � 
         (CDR) within the next 7 months? 

Planned Date of Testing                                                (Month/Year) 
 
OR 

 
2)     Are you requesting approval from the Board to take the Ohio LD examination?           �  � 
 
3)     Have you failed the examination given by the Commission on Dietetic Registration for RD status?       �  � 
 

If Yes, provide all date(s):                 
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 Current or Intended Place of Employment, if known      ⁪ CHECK HERE IF NOT APPLICABLE       
Name of Business                   Business Phone  (             ) 
                                       
Address (Number, Street)                   Start Date 
                                      
City, State, Zip)                                                                                                                                    County 
                                       
Position Title and Area of Practice      Name of Supervisor 
                                       
If you have failed the RD Exam and are applying for a supervised limited permit, indicate the name, address  
and telephone number of the dietitian who will be providing Direct Supervision. 
                                      
Name of Supervising LD    Address, Zip + 4           Phone 
  
SUPERVISION OF PERSONS CLAIMING EXEMPTION SECTION  (If you fail to complete this section your application will be incomplete) 
 
Upon licensure will you be supervising a Dietetic Technician or a Baccalaureate in Dietetics graduate in the practice of dietetics as exempted under  
Section 4759.10(B)* or (E)** of the Ohio Revised Code?   

YES   �    NO   �          If “Yes,” provide information below:       (For information on supervision see OAC 4759-5-01) 
 

Name of Exempt Person Business Name/Address/ Zip +4 
Phone # 

Exempt Persons Title                Check Here 
*4759.10(B)     **4759.10(E) 

 
 

    

 
 

    

* A person who is a graduate of an associate degree program approved/accredited by the American Dietetic Association working as a dietetic   
technician under the supervision of a dietitian licensed under 4759.06 of the Revised Code… 

 
** A person who has completed a program meeting the academic standards set by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, received    
 a baccalaureate or higher degree from a school, college or university approved by a regional accreditation agency recognized by the   
      council on post-secondary accreditation… 
  
 Legal Questions  
If the answer to questions 1-6 is YES, give complete details and include copies of any legal records.  Attach separate sheet if necessary.  If the 
documents have been submitted with a previous application or if the following is a result of an official board hearing, then you do not have to 
resubmit them. 
                                Yes  No 
1.   a) Do you now or have you ever possessed a dietitian’s license or certificate issued by any state other than Ohio?        *  �  � 
 License #___________________   Type__________________ 
 Expiration Date______________   State__________________ 
 
     b) Do you now or have you ever possessed any other professional license or certificate issued by Ohio or any  
         state other than Ohio?                                 *  �        � 
 
 License #___________________   Type__________________ 
        Expiration Date______________   State__________________ 
 

*  If “Yes,” you must complete the Verification of License Form and forward it to the other state(s) where you hold a license 
or certification.   The form is either enclosed, or you may download it at www.dietetics.ohio.gov/obdapply.htm.  The Ohio 
license will not be issued until direct verification is received.   
Indicate date verification form sent to other state(s) ____________. 
               (date)                              Yes       No 
2.      Have you been denied professional licensure, certification or registration or had a professional license that was 
         the subject of enforcement action?  Enforcement action includes but is not limited to: suspension, revocation, 
         forfeiture, voluntary surrender, involuntary surrender, or probation.                 �      � 
 
3.      Have you entered into an agreement of any kind regarding a professional license, whether oral or written, with any  

 board, bureau, commission, department, agency or other regulatory body in Ohio or any other state or jurisdiction?      �      � 
              

4.     Have you been notified/charged by any board, bureau, commission, department, agency, or other regulatory body 
        in Ohio or any other state or jurisdiction that you engaged in conduct that constituted a violation of law or rule 
        related to a professional license?                           �      � 
 
5.     Have you engaged in the use of controlled substances, other habit-forming drugs, alcohol or other chemical 
        substances to an extent that impaired your ability to practice dietetics safely and competently (this includes your 

  pre-professional experience program)?                          �      � 
 
6.     Have you been:  charged or indicted with; convicted of; plead "no contest" to; or plead guilty to a violation of federal  
        law, state law or municipal ordinance (including DUI/OMVI/OVI/DWI) other than a minor misdemeanor traffic violation?    �      � 
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I hereby authorize the Commission on Dietetic Registration and its agents, all personal physicians, educational 
institutions, governmental agencies and instrumentalities, my references, employers and business and professional 
associates (past and present), to release to the Ohio Board of Dietetics any information, files or records requested by 
the Board in connection with the processing of this application. 
 
The information requested on the application is required by Ohio Revised Code Section 4759.06 and Ohio 
Administrative Code Section 4759-4-01.  The information will be placed on a computer system and will be used for 
the purposes of administering the functions of this office.  All information provided, except medical records and 
social security numbers, will be a public record.   
 
Any applicant who knowingly makes a false statement on this application is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first 
degree under section 2921.13 of the Revised Code. 
 
I hereby affirm that all the foregoing statements are true in every respect to the best of my knowledge. 

 
 
X                           

        Signature of Applicant              Date 
 
NOTE: 

1. You may apply for an initial license upon notification from CDR or the Board that you have passed the 
examination  
and prior to expiration of the Limited Permit. 

 
2. A person who has failed the examination may apply for a supervised limited permit, and shall practice 

dietetics only  
under the DIRECT SUPERVISION of a licensed dietitian (See 4759-4-08 OAC). 

 
3. It is a VIOLATION of Ohio Law (Chapter 4759 ORC) to practice dietetics in Ohio without a valid license. 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                FOR OFFICE USE ONLY         BC 
Action Date    

Fiscal Year    

Legal Flag    

Credential Type    

Audit Number    

Fee Amount    

Check Number    

  
     
The Ohio Board of Dietetics is an Equal Opportunity Employer and Service Provider 
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A full face photograph 
(passport size) taken not 
more than six months before 
the date of application 
must be placed in this space. 
 
 

 


